SPENDEN
Home > The Schools > Ratinga Primary
Karibu (i.e. welcome) at Ratinga Primary School (RPS), our fifth (and currently last) school. Ratinga was originally a kindergarten, which was founded by the Hinssen and Jacobs families from (!) Ratingen. The project was difficult to manage from Germany so the families, who have been sponsors of Watoto for many years, entrusted Mekaela Academies with the school.
The town of Ratingen is patron of the school, so the town’s coat of arms is flying next to our Amina flag. Also from Ratingen is the Blumberg Foundation, which donated classrooms and also launched a “matching grant” which takes on one sponsorship for each new sponsorship derived from Ratingen. Then there would be the Claus Family Foundation, which supports several schoolchildren and, of course, is based in Ratingen. And if I am already in the process of praising the tiny neighbour town of Düsseldorf over the green clover: There are also the support group of Diakonie and Caritas and the dental practice of Dr. Brauner + Dr. Renden who are funding the free basic medical programme MMMS for the RPS students.
Thus all roads lead to Ratingen, at least almost all. The Reiner Meutsch Foundation Fly & Help is located in the Westerwald, but that has not prevented them from funding the huge expansion of the school by five classrooms, a teacher’s room and a library in the year 2015.
With RPS we have succeeded in making Mekaela Academies affordable even for low-income Kenyans. School fees are almost two-thirds lower than in our other schools. This occasionally requires to compromise in terms of quality and quantity, but that does not seem to be at the expense of the performance of the students. Internal comparisons recently showed that RPS performs better than MAS and LPS.
Thanks to the numerous sponsorships, but also the low school fees, the number of students increased from 100 to 360 in just three years. RPS is now operating at full capacity.  The success of RPS has shown that families with very low incomes are also striving to provide their children with the best possible education, even if they have to cut back on other issues. We are therefore convinced that a secondary school on the basis of this concept would meet a very high demand. Perhaps Ratinga will not be our last school for long, who knows.

Last update: 08.2018

German

SPENDEN
Home > Die Schulen > Ratinga Primary
Die Ratinga war ursprünglich ein Kindergarten, der von den Ratinger (!) Familien Hinssen und Jacobs gegründet worden war. Das Projekt ließ sich von Deutschland aus nur schwer leiten, und so vertrauten die Ratinger, die seit vielen Jahren Paten bei Watoto sind, 2014 die Schule den Mekaela Academies an.
Die Stadt Ratingen ist Patronin der Schule, deshalb weht Stadtwappen neben unserer Amina. Ebenfalls aus Ratingen ist die Blumberg Stiftung, die Klassenräume gespendet und außerdem einen “Matching Grant” ins Leben gerufen hat, der für jede neue Patenschaft aus Ratingen eine weitere Patenschaft übernimmt. Dann wäre da noch die Stiftung Familie Claus, die mehrere Schulkinder unterstützt und, wie sollte es anders sein, in Ratingen ansässig ist. Und wenn ich schon einmal dabei bin, die kleine Nachbarstadt Düsseldorfs über den grünen Klee zu loben: da sind auch noch der Förderkreis Diakonie und Caritas e.V. und die Zahnarztpraxis Dr. Brauner + Dr. Rendchen, die die kostenlose medizinische Grundversorgung der Schüler durch das MMMS-Programm finanzieren.
Alle Wege führen nach Ratingen, jedenfalls fast alle. Die Reiner Meutsch Stiftung FLY & HELP sitzt im Westerwald, was sie aber nicht davon abgehalten hat, im Jahr 2015 den Ausbau der Schule um fünf Klassenräume, ein Lehrerzimmer und eine Bibliothek zu finanzieren.
Mit der Ratinga ist es uns gelungen, die Mekaela Academies auch für gering verdienende Kenianer erschwinglich zu machen. Die Schulgebühren liegen fast zwei Drittel niedriger als an unseren anderen Schulen. Das erfordert hin und wieder Kompromisse bei der Qualität und der Quantität, aber das scheint nicht zu Lasten der Leistung der Schüler zu gehen. Im internen Vergleich liegt die RPS vor der MAS und der LPS.
Dank der zahlreichen Patenschaften, aber auch der niedrigen Schulgebühren stieg die Zahl der Schüler innerhalb von nur drei Jahren von 100 auf 360, die RPS ist heute voll ausgelastet. Der Erfolg der RPS hat gezeigt, dass auch Familien mit sehr geringem Einkommen bemüht sind, ihren Kindern die bestmögliche Ausbildung zu ermöglichen, auch wenn die dafür auf vieles verzichten müssen. Wir sind daher überzeugt, dass eine Secondary Schule auf der Basis dieses Konzeptes auf eine sehr große Nachfrage treffen würde. Vielleicht bleibt die Ratinga nicht lange unsere letzte Schule, wer weiß.

Stand: 08.2018

English