DONATE
Home > The Schools > Manuel Alexander School

Manuel Alexander School (MAS) is the first school of Mekaela Academies, a primary school from Standard 1 to Standard 8 including 2 Kindergarten classes and a Baby class. Up to 450 children may be educated at MAS, since 2001 the school is working at full capacity. Pupils are looked after by 18 teachers and other staff weekdays from 7:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. The size of the school compound is “only” 3 acres, so we have limited space left for further expansion.

The two little girls are wearing the standard MAS school uniform with an Amina-badge sewn on it.

Children of Manuel Alexander School

The first building was completed at the beginning of 1996. Its construction is built in the shape of an “L” and contains 4 classrooms, 1 staff room, 2 storage rooms, toilets and washrooms. Approx. 130 children from Class 1 to Class 4 are taught here.

Mutual assistance at work: Ahmed is a local painter who could send two of his children to the school with the help of donorships. In return, he did all kinds of painting jobs for the school without payment. Only the paint he uses is provided by the school. So far, Ahmed has completed four colourful paintings on the outside of the walls.

MAS L-Wing

The classrooms are airy as they experience continual ventilation under the makuti thatch roof. During really hot days the temperature is about 10° to 15° C cooler inside due to the makuti construction.

The windows are secured by iron bars. The roof is lapping over, so rain won’t enter the classrooms even when it is windy. The blackboard consists of concrete which has been plastered and then painted black. This helps to avoid bugs and burglary.

Class of Std 1 in L-Wing

Like all school sof Mekaela Academies, MAS has its own water well for freshwater supply. The wells have to be dug to a depth of between 90 and 120 feet into the extremely hard coral rock – manually, of course. Two workers require 4 to 6 weeks to dig down to groundwater level for a fee of 5 Euros per foot.

The groundwater in the area is coming straight from Mount Kilimanjaro and is normally clean enough to be potable (at least if you are no sissy).

Water well

Theoretically, every school in Kenya has to display the Kenyan flag. Even if not all of the rules are followed in Kenya – Mekaela Academies are private schools founded by Europeans. Thus, every decent school inspector would be more than glad to earn himself a few shillings on the side by “enforcing” the law. Who would want to blame him, considering the low wages civil servants are paid.

So we erected a flagstaff (I know, this one is from LPS). The schools have small groups of scouts, often led by a girl. One of the tasks for the scouts is the hoisting of the flag in the morning and the lowering of it in the evening. This duty is carried out with great seriousness. After all, there is a law in Kenya that people should stand still the processing of a Kenyan national flag is taking place.

Flagstaff

Std. 1, shortly after the official opening in 1996. The walls are still empty, however a few weeks later pictures, learning materials and the class-list were hanging at the walls. At the end of that year four desks and six chairs will have been broken in this class alone – children are alike all over the world!

Quite amazing that the children are eagerly paying attention to their teacher although Frank is taking one picture after another right in front of the blackboard.

It’s a pity, but true: At the beginning of 1997 the small Indian girl in the front row was taken from the school by her grandfather, although she had a sponsorship. The reason given by the old man: “Girls do not need education.” Other countries…

Std. 1 Class in 1996

A Kindergarten class in action. The cupboard in the corner next to the blackboard is made of brick and mortar, a good protection against nightly intruders.

In the beginning pupils are sitting at standard sized desks. Unfortunately, some of the children could hardly get their noses above desks. In 1997, guests of (former) Robinson Club Baobab provided furniture for the little ones to sit decently.

Those were the great-grand-dads of the chairs you see now which are probably the 4th or 5th generation.

Kindergarten of Manuel Alexander School

In 1997, the construction of a second building was started which took us nearly 2 years to completed due to minor financial shortcomings. The building is “T”-shaped with six classrooms for approximately 150 pupils. Since 1998, the building is being used for the classes 4 to 8, the Fikentscher-Library, the former Nemetschek-Workshop (today: the Computer Lab) and the tiny canteen where food is prepared for the children.

This wall is called a “Talking Wall” which helps the children learning the alphabet, it was painted by Ahmed, too.

MAS Talking Wall

The T-wing seen from other side. The roofs are overlapping because the building was gradually extended over the years, and the ground has some serious down slope. Several steps (for reasons beyound our comprehension steps in Kenya must never be symmetrical) were built to level the aisle.

On this side, you will find the sports field, the volleyball and the basketball pitch as well as the casuarina tree nursery.

MAS Basketball Pitch

In 1998, Uschi from Mainz went to great pains looking after the construction of the sports field. Just one or two raining seasons later the field was in decent shape. Here, the physical education takes place, the school’s team conduct their competitions, generally football matches.

It will not surprise anyone that there is a law making sports pitches mandatory for private schools. That is fine with us. It is amazing how much the children enjoy any kind of motion – as long as it is fast.

MAS Sports Field

A photo for those of you who have already been there and may know the school from earlier times. This shot was taken one late afternoon in 1999 from the steps of the T-WIng. The children are just being collected from the school. It is nice to see how well the trees and bushes had grown since 1997. In the years since then, the school compound has really become a beautiful place.

And, mind you, MAS has a flagstaff, too! MAS in 1999

Since 1999, the school has a wonderful gateway with two white obelisks. Initially they were hand-made with much effort from small pieces of coral rock but this very beautiful design only survived two raining seasons.

Behind the school’s signboard on top of the guards’ house you see the makuti roof of the former canteen. It was converted to a house and provides housing for a family. (Before 2004 it used to be even two families, but fortunately things have been getting better.)

MAS Main Gate

As required by law in Kenya in 1999, a workshop was built as an extension of the the L-building. The funds for the construction and the tools were donated by Nemetschek AG. Since 2002, a workshop is no longer mandatory, so we turned this one into a computer lab. We added a ceiling and glass windows before installing an air-condition set made much sense. (Hey, we are smart!)

Today, the lab still is a hot and humid place, and if I was a PC I would kick the bucket after some weeks, but our original computer equipment turned 5 in 2007. Amazing.

Nemetschek Workshop

Thanks to generous donations, the new Computer Lab was equipped with 10 brand new PCs and a network. Both children and teachers receive computer training in the most common programmes. Our European volunteers have to teach here quite often, too, because we simply lack skilled teachers.

The Computer Lab is so popular that the voluntary lessons on (otherwise free) Saturdays are over-crowded. For the time being Internet access for pupils is not available, the connection charges would be too expensive. Who knows, that might be good after all.

PC Lab Manuel Alexander School

The teachers body in October, 1999 (without the then Deputy Headmaster, Simon Mwachia, and Elijah Musili had to be cut off on the right side, I could only save part of his sleeve). Our teachers have to be credited for the school’s educational achievements which made it the best school in Kwale District within a couple of years.

Sitting on the left side is Sarah, a voluntary teacher from Derek’s college in Oregon. Sarah had travelled to Kenya on her own expenses, paid for her accomodation herself and worked without a salary. Thank you, Sarah.

MAS Teachers in 1999

Lunch break at MAS. The playing ground is densely populated mostly by children from the Kindergarten. When playing, they show no mercy neither for themselves nor for the swings, slides and seesaws.

The equipment for playing and sports has to be maintained regularly, as it is hard to obtain and very costly in Kenya. Such items are placed on top of every wishing list of the school’s headmaster.

MAS Playground

Mr. Musili brought along a catalogue for certified playground equipment from his visit to Germany in 1999. The rocking ducks are home-made, copied from the catalogue. High-DIY, kind of, with concrete foundations in the ground, old car springs stuck in them, and wooden ducks from the local carpenter on top. Works just fine.

The rocking ducks are very popular with the little ones, although they still have to learn not to board the ducks with twenty kids at a time. Which of course they wont, so our ducks had the life-expectancy of a chocolate cake on a birthday party.

DIY Rocking Ducks

In October 1999, we met Andrea and Markus Lange in Kenya. Markus was then Managing Director of Logitech Germany. After visiting Manuel Alexander School Markus declared he wanted to complete the desperately needed I-Wing. Thus, the building was christened “Logitech House” on its official opening the following spring.

The architectural drawing was kindly donated by the father of one of our school-girls. Asantini sana, Markus and father!

Plan of Logitech Wing

In the beginning of 2000, a pool was built thanks to Gerda Pawils and her team, and it is probably the most popular installation in the school. The water is only about 3 ft. deep, but that is sufficient for paddling and swimming lessons. Suprisingly enough, most children who are living on South Coast (?!??) can’t swim properly.

Behind the pool, you can see the new Logitech House. It has become a real nice building. When the photo was taken the official MAS colour was light blue, now it is orange. (I hope it stays that way for a while, I hate to change the text every few years).

Gerda Pawils Pool

A 4-year old boy at the blackboard in his KG 2 classroom. Even in Kindergarten, the youngest are being taught reading, writing and even maths. The children have to qualify before they may graduate to the “real” school. The advantage of this procedure is rather obvious: all children join Std. 1 under comparable conditions, which improves their opportunities a lot.

This is one of the reasons why the schools of Mekaela Academies are achieving such positive results.

SPENDEN
Home > Die Schulen > Manuel Alexander School

 

Die Manuel Alexander School (M.A.S.) ist die erste Schule der Mekaela Academies. Sie ist eine Grundschule (Primary School) für die Klassen 1 bis 8. Zur Schule gehören zwei Kindergartenklassen und eine Babyklasse. Bis zu 450 Kinder werden hier unterrichtet, seit Anfang 2001 ist die Schule ausgelastet. Die Kinder werden von 7:00 Uhr bis 17:30 Uhr von 18 Lehrern und weiteren Angestellten betreut. Da das Schulgrundstück “nur” etwa 2 Hektar groß ist, sind Erweiterungen kaum noch möglich.

Die beiden kleinen Mädchen aus dem Kindergarten tragen die typische orangefarbene Schuluniform der MAS mit aufgenähtem Amina-Logo.

Kinder der Manuel Alexander Schule

Das erste Gebäude, eine L-förmige Konstruktion, wurde Anfang 1996 fertig. Hier befinden sich 4 Klassenräume, 1 Lehrerzimmer, Lagerräume, Toiletten und Waschräume. Etwa 130 Kinder der Klassen 1 bis 4 werden hier unterrichtet.

Hilfe auf Gegenseitigkeit: Ahmed ist ein Maler, der seine Kinder durch Patenschaften an der Schule unterbringen konnte. Dafür führte er unentgeltlich alle möglichen Malerarbeiten an der Schule durch, lediglich die Farbe wurde ihm zur Verfügung gestellt. Auf die Stirnseite hat er das Bild des Gebäudes aus Sicht der Büros gemalt, und darauf ist das Gemälde noch mal zu sehen – sozusagen eine Totalreflektion.

MAS L-Wing

Die Klassenräume sind luftig gebaut, unter dem Makutidach, das aus geflochtenen Palmwedeln hergestellt wird, findet eine ständige Ventilation statt. An heißen Tagen ist es aufgrund der Dachkonstruktion um 10° bis 15° kühler.

Die Fenster werden nur durch Eisenstreben gesichert, gegen Regen schützt das überhängende Dach. Die Schultafel besteht aus Beton, der sauber verputzt und mit schwarzer Farbe bemalt wurde – sicher vor Ungeziefer und vor Dieben.

Erste Klasse der L-Trakt

Wie jede Schule der Mekaela Academies verfügt auch die MAS über einen eigenen Brunnen für die Wasserversorgung. Die Brunnen müssen zwischen 30 und 40 Meter tief aus dem harten Korallenfelsen herausgehauen werden, mit der Hand, versteht sich. Zwei Arbeiter graben sich 4 bis 6 Wochen lang bis zum Grundwasser und erhalten als Lohn dafür rund 15 Euro pro Meter.

Das Grundwasser in der Umgebung wird vom Mount Kilimanjaro gespeist und ist so sauber, daß es sogar als Trinkwasser geeignet ist (jedenfalls, wenn man nicht zu empfindlich ist).

Brunnen

In Kenia müssen Schulen die Nationalflagge an einem Fahnenmast führen, theoretisch. Auch wenn in Kenia nicht immer alle Regeln befolgt werden – die Mekaela Academies sind Privatschulen, noch dazu von Deutschen gegründet. Jeder Schulinspektor würde nur zu gern die Gelegenheit ergreifen, sagen wir mal, neue Verdienstquellen zu erschließen. Wer will ihm das verdenken, bei den kargen Beamtengehältern.

Also haben auch wir Fahnenmasten aufgestellt (ich weiß, der hier ist von der LPS). Die Pfadfinder, die übrigens häufig ein Mädchen als Anführerin haben, hissen morgens die Flagge und holen sie abends wieder ein. Diese Pflicht wird mit großer Ernsthaftigkeit erledigt. Schließlich gibt es in Kenia sogar ein Gesetz, nach dem man stehen bleiben muss, wenn man einer Flaggenprozedur ansichtig wird.

Mast und Flagge

Die 1. Klasse im Jahre 1996, kurz nach der Schuleröffnung. Die Wände sind noch leer, aber schon wenige Wochen später hängen Bilder, Lehrmaterial und die Klassenliste an den Wänden. Leider waren am Jahresende auch 4 Pulte und 6 Stühle kaputt getobt – Kinder sind nun einmal überall auf der Welt gleich!

Bemerkenswert ist, dass die Kinder gebannt dem Unterricht folgen, obwohl Frank direkt vor ihrer Nase ein Foto nach dem anderen macht.

Bedauerlich, aber wahr: Das kleine indische Mädchen in der ersten Reihe wurde Anfang 1997 von ihrem Großvater von der Schule genommen, obwohl es ein Stipendium hatte. Die Begründung des alten Mannes: “Mädchen müssen nichts lernen.” Andere Länder…

Erste Klasse in 1996

Eine Kindergartenklasse im Betrieb. Links neben der Tafel der gemauerte Klassenschrank – für die Haltbarkeit und gegen Diebe. In den ersten Jahren saßen alle Schüler auf Schulmöbeln mit Standardmaß, so daß manche der kleinen Kinder ihre Nasen kaum über den Rand der Pulte bekamen. Einige Gäste des ehemaligen Robinson Club Baobab legten dann 1997 zusammen und sorgten dafür, daß auch die Kleinsten “artgerecht” sitzen konnten.

Das waren die Urgroßväter der heutigen Stühle, inzwischen dürfte das hier schon die 4. oder 5. Generation sein.

Kindergarten der Manuel Alexander Schule

1997 wurde mit dem Bau des zweiten Schulgebäudes begonnen, für die Fertigstellung brauchten wir wegen chronischem Geldmangels fast 2 Jahre. Das Gebäude hat einen T-förmige Grundriß, mit sechs Klassenzimmern für rund 150 weitere Schüler. Das Gebäude wird seit 1998 genutzt und beherbergt die Klassen 5 bis 8 sowie die Fikentscher-Bibliothek, den ehemaligen Nemetschek Workshop (heute: die Computerklasse) und eine kleine Kantine für die Essensausgabe.

An der Wand eine so genannte “Talking-Wall”, die das Lernen des Alphabets fördert, ebenfalls von Ahmed gemalt.

MAS Talking Wall

Das T-Gebäude von der anderen Seite aus gesehen. Die Verschachtelung der Dächer rührt daher, dass das Gebäude über die Jahre hinweg erweitert wurde, und der Boden dort ziemlich abschüssig ist. Das Gefälle wurde einfach mit ein paar Stufen, die aus irgend einem uns nicht bekannten Grund in Kenia offenbar niemals symmetrisch sein dürfen, überbrückt.

Auf dieser Seite befinden sich der große Sportplatz, der Volleyball- und der Basketballplatz sowie die Casuarina-Baumschonung.

MAS Basketball Platz

Uschi aus Mainz hatte 1998 keine Mühen gescheut, um die Einrichtung des Sportplatzes zu betreuen. Zwei Regenzeiten später war der Platz dann auch recht ordentlich geworden. Dort findet der Sportunterricht statt, und die Schulmannschaft der MAS bestreitet Wettkämpfe gegen andere Schulen, meistens im Fußball.

Natürlich ist auch ein Sportplatz für Privatschulen vorgeschrieben, aber er ist auch sehr sinnvoll, denn die Schüler haben eine unglaubliche Freude an jeder Art von Bewegung.

MAS Sportplatz

Ein Foto für diejenigen, die schon vor Ort waren und die Schule evtl. noch von früher kennen. Diese Aufnahme ist 1999 am späten Nachmittag entstanden, von den Stufen des T-Gebäudes aus. Die Kinder werden gerade abgeholt. Sehr schön zu sehen, wie die Bäume und Büsche gewachsen sind, die Anlage ist in den Jahren seit dem wirklich prächtig geworden.
Und, bitte sehr, auch die MAS hat einen Fahnenmast.

Altes Foto vom 1999

Seit 1999 hat die Schule eine wunderbare Einfahrt mit zwei weißen Obelisken, die anfangs noch in mühevoller Handarbeit mit kleinen Bruchstücken von Korallenfelsen besetzt worden waren. Dieses sehr hübsche Design überlebte leider nur ein paar Regenzeiten.

Hinter dem Schulschild auf dem Wärterhaus ist das Dach der ehemaligen Kantine zu sehen. Sie wurde umgebaut und dient nun einer Familie als Haus. (Bis 2004 sogar zwei Familien, aber die Zeiten sind zum Glück besser geworden.)

MAS Haupteingang

Wie es das kenianische Schulgesetz vorsah, wurde im Sommer 1999 einen Workshop eingerichtet. Das Geld für den Bau und die Geräte wurde von der Nemetschek AG gestiftet. Seit 2002 ist ein Workshop nicht mehr vorgeschrieben, der Raum wurde daher in eine Computerklasse umgewandelt. Es wurde eine Decke eingezogen und Fenster anstatt der Stahlstreben eingebaut, damit eine Klimaanlage installiert werden konnte (wir denken schließlich mit).

Wirklich kühl wird es in dem Raum bis heute nicht, und wäre ich ein PC, würde ich nach wenigen Wochen den Geist aufgeben, aber die Geräte hielten 2007 schon im sechsten Jahr.

Nemetschek Workshop

Die neue Computerklasse wurde Dank einer großzügigen Spende mit einer riesigen Arbeitsfläche, 10 neuen PC und einem Netzwerk ausgestattet. Eine Lehrkraft unterrichtet Kinder und Lehrer in den gängigsten Anwendungen, und auch unsere Praktikanten müssen häufig hier Dienst tun, denn uns fehlen einfach ausreichend qualifizierte Informatiklehrer.

Die Computerklasse ist so beliebt, dass sogar am schulfreien Sonnabend freiwilliger Unterricht mit reger Beteiligung abgehalten wird. Internet gibt es für die Schüler dagegen einstweilen nicht, die Verbindungsgebühren wären einfach zu teuer. Wer weiß, wofür das gut ist.

PC Labor Manuel Alexander Schule

Der Lehrkörper im Oktober 1999 (ohne den damaligen stellvertretenden Schulleiter Simon Mwachia, und Elijah Musili musste ich aus Platzgründen rechts abschneiden, nur sein Ärmel konnte gerettet werden). Diesen Lehrern ist es zu verdanken, daß die Schule in kürzester Zeit zur besten Schule des Distrikt von Kwale avancierte.

Vorne links sitzt Sarah, eine Volontärin aus dem College von Derek aus Oregon. Sarah bezahlte die Kosten für die Anreise und ihre Unterkunft aus eigener Tasche und arbeitete natürlich ohne Gehalt. Danke, Sarah.

MAS Lehrkörper in 1999

Die große Pause gegen Mittag an der MAS. Der Spielplatz ist in den Pausen hauptsächlich von den Kleinen aus dem Kindergarten bevölkert, und die sind wirklich gnadenlos, die schonen beim Spielen weder sich selbst noch die Schaukeln, Rutschen oder Wippen.

Das Spiel- und Sportgerät muss regelmäßig überholt werden, denn neues Gerät ist in Kenia kaum zu bekommen bzw. extrem teurer und steht auf der Wunschliste der Schulleitung immer ganz oben.

MAS Spielplatz

Von seinem ersten Deutschlandbesuch in 1999 brachte Mr. Musili einen Katalog für Spielgerät mit TÜV-Siegel für Kindergärten mit. Die Wipp-Enten sind Marke Eigenbau aus dem Katalog abgekupfert worden. Dazu wurden zwei Betonanker in den Felsboden gegossen, darin zwei alte Auto-Spiralfedern versenkt und mit selbstgezimmerten Enten versehen. Funktioniert prächtig.

Bei den Kleinen erfreuen sich die Enten höchster Beliebtheit, sie müssen nur noch lernen, nicht mit 20 Mann gleichzeitig das Gerät zu stürmen. Werden sie natürlich nicht, daher hatten unsere Enten eine Lebenserwartung wie eine Torte auf einem Kindergeburtstag.

Selbstgebaute Wippenten

Im Oktober 1999 lernten wir in Kenia Andrea und Markus Lange kennen. Markus war damals Geschäftsführer von Logitech Deutschland und hatte nach einem Besuch der MAS erklärt, seine Firma würde den Bau des dringend benötigten dritten Gebäudes finanzieren. Seit April 2000 wird das “Logitech House” getaufte Gebäude für die Kindergartenklassen und die Verwaltung genutzt.

Den Architektenplan hat freundlicherweise der Vater eines Schulmädchens umsonst erstellt. Asantini sana, Markus und Vater!

Baupläne der Logitech Trakt

Die wohl die beliebteste Einrichtung der Schule ist der Pool, der Anfang 2000 dank Gerda Pawils und ihrem Team Anfang werden konnte. Das Wasser ist zwar nur ca. einen Meter tief, aber es reicht zum Planschen und für Schwimmunterricht. Erstaunlicherweise können die wenigsten Kinder an der Südküste (?!??) richtig schwimmen.

Im Hintergrund ist das Logitech House zu sehen, es ist wirklich schön geworden. Zur Zeit der Aufnahme war die Farbe der MAS noch Hellblau, inzwischen ist es Orange. (Und hoffentlich bleibt das auch so, sonst muss ich alle paar Jahre den Text wieder ändern).

Gerda Pawils Pool

Ein Vierjähriger des Kindergarten 2 an der Tafel. Schon im Kindergarten lernen die Kleinen Lesen, Schreiben und sogar Rechnen. Vor der Versetzung in die “richtige” Schule muss erst einmal eine Abschlussprüfung bestanden werden, sonst wird der Kindergarten wiederholt. Der Vorteil liegt auf der Hand: alle Kinder haben in der 1. Klasse vergleichbare Voraussetzungen und dadurch viel bessere Chancen mitzukommen.

Das ist einer der Gründe, warum die Schulen der Mekaela Academies so gute Ergebnisse erzielen.

English