DONATE
Home > The Schools > Lulu High School

Lulu High School (Lulu means “Diamond” in Suaheli) is a secondary school for Form 1 to Form 4. The plot covers nearly 5,5 acres and lies in the neighbourhood of LPS. Since 2005, the school provides excellent education for up to 200 students, preparing them the best possible way for a working career or university studies.

Lulu High belongs to the Top 100 secondary schools in Kenya (out of approx. 5000), having achieved the “National School” status in its first year of KCSE exams in 2007.

The picture shows a camera team shooting for the show “Volle Kanne” of German TV ZDF in July 2007 (to be found on this website under the menu item “Downloads”).

ZDF camera team at Lulu High School

On a hot day in March 2004, the foundation stone for Lulu High School was laid, the 3rd school of Mekaela Academies. Simone and Gerd Blanke had made dreams come true. After performances by the children a tree was planted, and a brick containing a pipe with Kenya Shilling and Euro coins and newspapers from Kenya and Germany was laid into the foundation.

Just one year later Lulu High School was officially opened, an incredible achievement by Gerd Blanke. During a solemn ceremony Dr. Schleifer from the main donor Damp Holding AG had the honourable duty to declare the school as opened.

LHS Inauguration 2005

The fancy school uniforms of the young ladies of Lulu High School on washing day. At first, the girls were not too keen with the design – until the ladies kept receiving compliments for their elegant appearance in town.

Now, the “Lulu High fashion look” is in.

Lulu High School School uniforms

We christened our project logo “Amina”. The children love to sketch the logo, and are proud to wear their “Amina” badges. Everyone easily recognizes the logo – good for a very young girl of LPS who got lost in a neighbouring village. A lady identified the emblem at once and immediately returned her to school. Logo der Mekaela Academies

In 2005, these eight teachers made sure that LHS pupils will be able to find an open door of a college or a university for them.

At the opening, only 25 students were at LHS. During the next few years, their number reached 150, and thebody of teachers more than doubled.

The main gate of LHS, as seen from the LPS compound. The plots of the two schools are located next to each other, but the students have very little contact with each other.

This picture is evidence how beautifully the first building of LHS harmonizes with the trees of the plot. As many trees as possible are conserved during construction, not the least because they offer much appreciated shade.

LHS main building

In April 2005, only eight boys were living in the dorms of LHS. There was plenty of room for each of them, but they decided they all wanted to sleep together in one room. It feels cosier, and supports unity of the group.

LHS the boys’ dormitory

The house of the LHS head-teacher, the so called “principal”. According to Kenyan law, at least the head-teacher of a boarding-school has to live on the premises of the school for security reasons.

The architect’s applied new ways of interpreting geometry – a touch of Mr. Hundertwasser.

The principle’s home

Sunday morning, the day after the opening ceremony: tourists from Duesseldorf and Nairobi pour in (Karibu, Peter).

Tourists

A few impressions from Lulu High School, also captured on the day after the opening ceremony:

The, well, reception …

LHS reception

… the computer class of LHS.

The photo was taken immediately after the equipment was installed. The classroom has to be fitted with glass windows and air-conditioning, otherwise the computers won’t last for long.

The chemistry lab. Thanks to HelpAlliance of Lufthansa the lab now has a concrete ceiling, equipment and all materials you need to conduct some decent chemistry lessons. The physics lab has undergone a similar upgrade, partly financed by HelpAlliance as well.

The LHS gallery.

Fire extinguishers are mandatory, but we also want to establish our own school fire brigade by training the older students in fire fighting. Because of the makuti roofs which are on most buildings, fire protection is taken very serious at Mekaela Academies.

Security is a very important issue in Kenya. A significant number of watchmen is on duty at every school of Mekaela Academies at night and at daytime. Trained dogs guard the boarding schools as intruder detectors, they are much better than humans. Our “Askaris” are true heroes: albeit their meagre pay they risk their lives to protect the children every day. The danger is quite real for them: so far one watchman was killed by burglars during an night raid of one of our schools.

LHS Security Officer

For many years, the students have suffered and struggled. The parents and sponsors have invested time and money, worries and dedication. Now their children hold a certificate of one of Kenya’s best secondary schools in their hands, and universities and colleges are open to them.

The meaning of this graduation day is that they now have the opportunity to achieve a better life for themselves and their families by their own means – as doctors or engineers, as lawyers or teachers, as pilots or journalists. Now, on this very special day, we all know what it was good for. And that we would do it again any time.

SPENDEN
Home > Die Schulen > Lulu High School

Die Lulu High School (Lulu heißt “Diamant” auf Suaheli) ist eine weiterführende Secondary School für die 9. bis zur 12. Klasse. Das 3,5 Hektar große Grundstück liegt neben der LPS. Seit 2005 können an der Lulu High School (LHS) bis zu 200 Schüler durch eine erstklassige Ausbildung optimal auf das Berufs- oder Studienleben vorbereitet werden. Die Lulu High gehört zu den Top 100 der insgesamt rund 5000 Secondary Schools Kenias. Aus dem Stand erreichte die LHS bei den ersten Abschlußprüfungen 2007 den Standard einer “National School”, den höchsten Status einer Secondary School in Kenia.

Im Bild das Kamerateam des ZDF bei Aufnahmen für die Sendung “Volle Kanne” im Juli 2007 (zu sehen auf unserer Homepage unter der Rubrik “Downloads”).

ZDF Kameramanschaft bei der Lulu High School

An einem heißen Märztag 2004 fand die feierliche Grundsteinlegung für die 3. Schule der Mekaela Academies, die Lulu High School, statt. Simone und Gerd haben Träume Wirklichkeit werden lassen. Den Aufführungen der Schulkinder folgte das Pflanzen eines Baumes und das Einmauern eines Rohres mit kenianischen und Euro-Münzen sowie Zeitungen aus Kenia und Deutschland mit dem aktuellen Datum.

Nur ein Jahr nach der Grundsteinlegung wurde die Lulu High School offiziell eröffnet, eine unglaubliche Leistung von Gerd Blanke. Bei der feierlichen Zeremonie hatte Dr. Schleifer von der Damp Holding AG, dem Hauptsponsor des Projektes, die ehrenvolle Aufgabe, die Schule zu eröffnen.

LHS Einweihung 2005

Die schmucken Uniformen der jungen Damen der Lulu High School am Waschtag. Anfangs war das Design ziemlich unbeliebt – bis die Ladies in der Stadt laufend Komplimente für ihr elegantes Aussehen erhielten.

Jetzt ist dieser Look bei den Mädels absolut “in”.

Lulu High School Schuluniformen

“Amina” heißt das Logo unseres Projektes, und die Kinder zeichnen das Wahrzeichen gerne nach. Jeder erkennt Amina sofort wieder – zum Glück für ein kleines Schulkind der LPS, das sich verlaufen hatte und von einer Passantin zur Schule zurückgebracht wurde, weil sie das Emblem auf der Schuluniform sofort zuordnen konnte.

Diese acht Lehrer sorgten in 2005 dafür, dass die Kinder einen Abschluß an der LHS machen können, der ihnen später einmal die Türen eines College oder einer Universität öffnen wird.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Eröffnung besuchten erst 25 Kinder die LHS, im Laufe der folgenden Jahre stieg diese Zahl auf 150, und die Lehrerschaft verdoppelte sich.

Die Einfahrt der Lulu High School, photographiert vom Grundstück der LPS.

Die Grundstücke der beiden Schulen liegen dicht nebeneinander, die Schüler der beiden Schulen haben aber tagsüber keine Berührungspunkte.

Auf diesem Bild sieht man, wie schön das erste Gebäude der LHS in den vorhandenen Baumbestand integriert wurde. Der Baumbestand wird bei allen Baumaßnahmen möglichst geschont, nicht zuletzt weil die Bäume als willkommene Schattenspender dienen.

LHS Hauptgebäude

Die Schlafräume der Jungen. Eine kleine Anekdote: Im April 2005 beherbergten sie lediglich acht Jungen. Obwohl dadurch jeder eine eigene Schlafkammer hätte haben können, wollten alle acht lieber in einem Raum schlafen, wegen der Geborgenheit. Das stärkt den Zusammenhalt.

LHS Schlafsaal der Jungen

Das Wohnhaus des Schulleiters der LHS, des so genannten Principals. Laut kenianischem Gesetzt muß zumindest der Schulleiter eines Internates aus Sicherheitsgründen auf dem Gelände der Schule wohnen.

Die Architektur spielt bewußt mit streng geometrischen Formen und unregelmäßiger Anordnung der einzelnen Elemente – ein Hauch von Hundertwasser.

Haus des Schulleiters

Am Sonntag nach der Eröffnungsfeier: Erste Touristen aus Düsseldorf und Nairobi haben sich auf dem Gelände der LHS eingefunden (Karibu, Peter).

Touristen

Noch einige Eindrücke von der Lulu High School, eingefangen am Tag nach der Eröffnung.

Der Empfang und das Sekretariat …

LHS Rezeption

… der Computerraum.

Das Bild entstand unmittelbar nach Lieferung und Installation der Geräte. Der Raum muß noch Fenster und eine Klimaanlage erhalten, damit die Luftfeuchtigkeit niedrig gehalten werden kann – sonst halten die Computer nicht lange.

Das Chemielabor. Dank HelpAlliance von Lufthansa verfügt das Labor inzwischen über eine feste Betondecke, Geräte und auch sonst alles, was man für einen vernünftigen Unterricht in Chemie und Biologie benötigt. Der Physiksaal ist ähnlich ausgestattet, zum Teil auch von HelpAlliance finanziert.

Die Kolonnaden der LHS.

Die Feuerlöscher sind vorgeschrieben, wir wollen aber auch eine freiwillige Schulfeuerwehr gründen, die sich aus den älteren Schülern rekrutiert. Brandschutz wird an den Mekaela Academies wegen der Makutidächer sehr ernst genommen.

Sicherheit ist in Kenia immer ein wichtiges Thema. Jede Schule der Mekaela Academies hat sowohl tagsüber als auch nachts eine beträchtliche Anzahl von Wachpersonal, und die Internate halten auch mehrere abgerichtete Hunde als Frühwarnsystem vor Eindringlingen. Unsere “Askaris” sind wirkliche Helden: obwohl der Job wirklich nicht gut bezahlt ist, setzen sie für die Kinder jeden Tag ihr Leben aufs Spiel, und das nicht nur abstrakt. Ein Wachmann ist bereits bei einem nächtlichen Überfall getötet worden.

LHS Sicherheitsoffizier

Die Schüler haben sich jahrelang gequält, die Eltern und Sponsoren haben unendlich viel Mühen, Geld, Sorgen und Anteilnahme aufgebracht. Jetzt halten ihre Patenkinder und Kinder ein Abschlusszeugnis einer der besten Secondary Schulen Kenias in den Händen, und die Universitäten und Colleges stehen ihnen offen.

Dieses Zeugnis bedeutet, dass sie jetzt die Chance haben, aus eigener Kraft ein besseres Leben für sich und ihre Familien zu verwirklichen – als Ärzte oder Ingenieure, als Anwälte oder Lehrer, als Journalisten oder Piloten. Jetzt, an diesem besonderen Tag, wissen wir alle, wofür es gut war. Und wir würden es immer wieder machen.

English