SPENDEN
Home > The Schools > Lulu Girls High School
Lulu Girls High School (LGS) is a joint project with the One World Foundation from Oldenburg, Germany. The foundation acquired a plot of land in 2006 and funded the construction of a school. The ownership of the property and the buildings remain with the foundation, Mekaela Academies has a long term lease for the property (at a symbolic price). At the end of 2007, the school was first founded as a primary school under the name “Heshima Primary School”. Around 320 boys and girls were taught in eight classes, about half of them were housed in the boarding area.
On Easter 2015, Heshima Primary School and the neighbouring Manuel Alexander School burned down almost completely, only the boarding area of Heshima remained intact, because the buildings had iron sheet roofs instead of the previously used makuti roofs which are made of palm fronds.
Thanks to generous donations, the schools could be rebuilt within just three months. The reconstruction also offered an opportunity: Mekaela Academies only had one secondary school (Lulu High School) with a maximum of 240 places available, and that school was mixed. Most Kenyan parents prefer girls only and boys only schools for their children, so we were able to use the reconstruction to convert the Heshima into a secondary school for girls only.
Since 2016, Heshima is called “Lulu Girls High School”, and the first secondary school has been renamed to “Lulu Boys High School”. Neither the boys nor the girls were willing to surrender the name prefix “Lulu” (“gemstone” in Swahili). At the end of 2017, the final exams (KCSE) for the girls of Form 4 took place for the first time, and our young ladies produced quite remarkable results. There is a healthy competition between the Lulu Girls and the Lulu Boys, each graduation class wants to finish better than that of the sister school. Since their segregation the boys and girls are much more relaxed and productive. Now what may be the reason for that one wonders?
In 2018, we managed to complete a physics lab and a chemistry lab thanks to a donation of HelpAlliance, the CSR entity of Lufthansa. The old chemistry lab was changed into a library. Also, an One World Foundation funded a new administration block which contains an office and a computer lab. LGS now has all facilities a good secondary school requires – oh, wait a minute, maybe a sports pitch for the girls would make everything perfect. But them, that is already on the wish list of One World.

Last update: 08.2018

German

SPENDEN
Home > Die Schulen > Lulu Girls High School
Die Lulu Girls High School (LGS) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt mit der Eine Welt Stiftung aus Oldenburg. Die Stiftung hatte 2006 ein Grundstück erworben und den Bau einer Schule finanziert. Das Eigentum am Grundstück und den Gebäuden liegt bei der Stiftung, die Mekaela Academies haben das Nutzungsrecht. Ende 2007 wurde die Schule als Grundschule unter dem Namen “Heshima Primary School” gegründet. Rund 320 Jungen und Mädchen wurden in den acht Klassen unterrichtet, etwa die Hälfte von ihnen war im Internatsbereich untergebracht.
Ostern 2015 brannten die Heshima Primary School und die benachbarte Manuel Alexander School nahezu komplett ab, nur der Internatsbereich der Heshima blieb verschont, weil die Gebäude Blechdächer anstatt der bis dahin üblichen Dächer aus geflochtenen Palmwedeln hatten.
Dank großzügiger Spenden konnten die Schulen in nur drei Monaten wieder aufgebaut werden. Der Wiederaufbau bot auch eine Chance: die Mekaela Academies hatte mit der “Lulu High School” nur eine Secondary School (Gymnasium) mit maximal 240 Plätzen zur Verfügung, und diese Schule war gemischt. Die meisten kenianischen Eltern bevorzugen reine Mädchen- und Jungenschulen für ihre Kinder, und so nutzten wir den Wiederaufbau dazu, die Heshima in ein reines Mädchengymnasium umzugestalten.
Seit 2016 heisst die Heshima “Lulu Girls High School”, und das Jungengymnasium wurde in “Lulu Boys High School” umbenannt. Auf den Namenszusatz “Lulu” (“Edelstein” auf Suaheli) wollten weder die Jungs noch die Mädchen verzichten. Ende 2017 fanden zum ersten Mal Abschlussprüfungen (KCSE) für die Mädchen der Form 4 statt, und unsere jungen Damen schnitten dabei recht ordentlich ab. Es besteht ein gesunder Wettbewerb zwischen den Lulu Mädels und den Lulu Jungs, jeder Abschlussjahrgang möchte besser abschließen als der der Schwesterschule. Dabei führen die Jungen und Mädchen getrennt ein entspannteres und produktiveres Schulleben. Woran das wohl liegen mag?
2018 konnten wir mit Hilfe der HelpAlliance ein  Physik- und ein Chemielabor fertigstellen. Das alte Labor wurde zu einer Bibliothek umgebaut. Außerdem finanzierte die Eine Welt Stiftung einen Bürotrakt sowie ein Computerraum, die Schule hat also jetzt alles, was ein ordentliches Gymnasium benötigt – oder jedenfalls fast, denn ein Sportplatz für die Mädels fehlt noch. Den hat die EWS aber bereits auf der Wunschliste.

Stand: 08.2018

English